It was calm today, but last week the wind was blowing pretty hard. I don’t like walking when it’s windy but decided I needed to get out and move. So I braved it. As I walked, I played Pollyanna’s glad game, where you try to find something to be glad about in every situation. I was glad it wasn’t snowing or flooding! I also told myself I was burning up extra calories moving against the headwind, which was something else to be glad about.

Going against the wind (I hear music!) is an expression we use when we hold opinions or beliefs different from the majority. I couldn’t help but think about grace. Most Christians will tell you they believe in grace but in real life, are still trying to earn favor with God and even their salvation. Many churches say grace but preach legalism. If you really live a grace-filled life, you often find yourself moving against the wind of legalistic teaching and pressure to do enough, be enough, perform well enough.

Rest in the grace of Christ, but don’t let the wind blow you back into legalism.

