When we were little and my sister and I were given candy, knowing we had to share, we would count it out: one for me, one for you, one for me, one for you. We were very careful to divide everything equally, even when pouring orange juice, because we always wanted our fair share.

As an adult, I frequently count my blessings, thanking God for his mercy and generosity. And as a Christian, I don’t need to worry about getting my fair share. God has already blessed me beyond measure in many ways.

It’s wonderful to receive a blessing, but what about being one, by turning around and blessing someone by an act of kindness or service? Some people call this paying it forward, meaning if someone does something good for you, you then do something good for someone else. But we don’t need to wait for someone to start the process, God already did that; all we need to do is keep it going.

It’s something to consider, whatever you want to call it¬† – paying it forward, being a blessing, showing grace or even – one for me, one for you.

