One day last week I skipped a workout. This was on a day when I had planned to exercise, but my energy level was low and I just didn’t really want to do it. This week, due to my yearly trek to downtown LA to work at Staples Center during March Madness, I will miss several days. But as I said in an earlier post, I’m not going to feel guilty or beat myself up. I’m also not going to use the few days off as an excuse to stop. I’ve done that before and called it inertia.

When I mess up, I’m usually merciful to myself (and good at rationalizations). When our good intentions go awry or we make a mistake, we quickly justify our action or inaction. We often don’t give others the same latitude. We judge and criticize and wonder what’s wrong with them, and we incorrectly project our attitude onto God. Those who don’t understand much about God think he is always looking for opportunities to punish us. But do we love ourselves more than God? The One  who created us is not less merciful than we are; he doesn’t love us less than we love ourselves or our children or friends/family. I can’t remember who said it, but I read somewhere the theology of many doesn’t allow God to love us more than we love our children.

The truth is God loves us more than we love ourselves, our spouses, children, parents and God himself! We love poorly and conditionally – he loves perfectly and unconditionally. I’m going to get back to my workouts next week and while I’m sweating it out, I’ll be praising God for his love that keeps me going.

