Along with the good comes the bad – side by side in my garden, pretty flowers and weeds. I’m one of those rare California birds who actually does her own yard work so today found me outside mowing, edging, trimming, weeding and spraying even more weeds. It’s amazing how many weeds can grow in one small yard. I did have fun using my weed sprayer, especially on some errant Bermuda grass. I hate that stuff!

When we lived in Arizona, I tried unsuccessfully to keep the Bermuda grass out of my flower beds. I used to have nightmares about what I dubbed “devil grass.” I was told if you covered  your whole yard in black plastic, Bermuda grass would grow under it until it found a hole and it would come up and stick out its tongue at you. I can’t help but think of sin when I’m pulling out devil grass. We are never free from it, and even when we think we are, it lies in wait for an opportunity to reach out and grab us.

Paul put it so well in Romans 8 when he said, “When I want to do good, I don’t. And when I try not to do wrong, I do it anyway” (verse 19, NLT). “Who will free me from this life that is dominated by sin? Thank God! The answer is in Jesus Christ our Lord” (verses 24-25). Thank God for his amazing grace that completely covers our sins. I just hope my weed spray works half as well.

