Part of my exercise routine is doing a Tony Little ab work out. You may have seen him on infomercials. He makes me laugh but sometimes what he says makes sense and even expresses a bit of spiritual wisdom. I call it the Wit & Wisdom of Tony Little. During one stretching exercise he tells me: only go as far as you can go. I always reply, well of course I’m only going to go as far as I can go. I can’t go as far as someone else!

He’s right – we often make the mistake of comparing ourselves to others. But doesn’t the Bible tell us not to do that, and not to try to be someone we’re not? We’ve each been given our own unique gifts and I know from experience it’s best to work in my area of giftedness and not try to work outside. I’m not saying stretching isn’t good because it is and helps us grow. Even when I work out I always try to stretch farther, but I know I’m just not good at some things.

So thanks for the reminder, Tony, to only go as far as I can go – and not try to be what I’m not.

“We do not dare to classify or compare ourselves with some who commend themselves. When they measure themselves by themselves and compare themselves with themselves, they are not wise” (2 Corinthians 10:12, NIV).

