The other day while out walking, I was praying about a speech for a women’s retreat. I plan to talk about Jesus so I was musing on who he is. I don’t remember which thoughts led up to remembering a favorite line from one of my all time favorite movies, Galaxy Quest, but somehow I got there. On an alien planet, the “captain” was trying to figure out how to fight a creature made up of a bunch of rocks. When Guy tells him to go for his vulnerable spots, the captain shouts, “he’s a rock, he doesn’t have any vulnerable spots.”

God is described as a rock and as far as I can tell, he doesn’t have any vulnerable spots either. But if we were to take the liberty of thinking of him in this way, we might say he does have one soft spot. It doesn’t make him weak or leave him open to attack. It’s not anything that would cause him to be overcome, like Kryptonite did to Superman. It’s not an Achilles heel.

God’s vulnerability if I may, is his love for us. His amazing love is what moved him to become human and live as one of us. It’s so deep he died for it – to take our sins upon himself and conquer death so we will live. Yes, he’s a rock, with no vulnerable spots, except maybe his love for his children.

