Happy New Year! It’s time for a new challenge, to post every day in 2012. I must admit I ran out of steam at the end of 2011, but I’m ready to go again. I’m going to share a Bible verse a day, starting with one of my favorites. You can find this on other websites, but I hope to provide a little something extra to encourage you as you start your day.

May God bless you in this new year and may you grow in grace and knowledge of him.

“For the Lord your God is living among you. He is a mighty savior. He will take delight in you with gladness. With his love, he will calm all your fears. He will rejoice over you with joyful songs” (Zephaniah 3:17, NLT).

The first time I read this verse and applied it to myself, I cried. It was almost incomprehensible God might sing over me, delighting in me and calming my fears with his love. He’s like a mother, holding her baby close, soothing him or her with love songs.

God really does love us, not just in general, but personally. He delights in each one of you, as if you alone were his favorite. Delight in his love and enjoy his special song just for you!

