“Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light” (Matthew 11:28, NLT).

So many look at the words of Jesus and see a list of things to do. When I read this verse, I relax all over. He didn’t bring more rules and laws, with more ways to mess up (e.g., if you even lust after someone, it’s a sin). No, he was pointing out that it’s impossible to save ourselves with rules or even to become a better person without him.

Jesus wants us to rest from trying to be good, to rest from legalism, to stop worrying about obedience and just let him take care of everything. Give him the weight from your shoulders, relax and rest in him.

