“My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,” says the LORD. “And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine. For just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so my ways are higher than your ways and my thoughts higher than your thoughts” (Isaiah 55:8-9, NLT).

One of the worst things we can do is assume God thinks the way we do or that we know how he thinks. We get in trouble when we don’t even allow for the possibility he might just have a different opinion on something. Is it weakness or lack of faith to be less than dogmatic about some of the things we believe?

This is what I’m sure of: God exists, he is Father, Son and Holy Spirit, he loves me, he died for me and because of the finished work on the cross, I will be with him forever. After that, everything registers on my sure-0-meter under 100%. There is one more thing I know: even though we think we understand many things about God, I’m 100% sure he is keeping some secrets, which will only be revealed when he’s ready.

its finished..

Image by Arayil via Flickr

