“I will bless the LORD who guides me; even at night my heart instructs me. I know the LORD is always with me. I will not be shaken, for he is right beside me” (Psalm 16:7-8, NLT).

“Be with me” or “Be with this person in their trial” are common phrases in many prayers. But we don’t have to ask God to be with us, or to come into our presence (I’m sure worship leaders mean to ask for the group to come into his presence) or to fill the room. He’s always with us, every moment, even with the ones who don’t believe in him. He doesn’t wait to be asked or released. God is always working in the lives of every human being, drawing them in, inviting them to come closer and involved in their joys and sorrows.

God has been “with us” since the beginning of time on earth. He is even more with us since coming as Jesus, our Emmanuel, our God With Us. He is beside us as we wake, eat, sleep and work, all without even asking.

