“He never changes or casts a shifting shadow” (James 1:17, NLT). “There is nothing deceitful in God, nothing two-faced, nothing fickle” (The Message).

I enjoy words and their meanings. I’m always looking them up in the dictionary or thesaurus to either make sure I understand exactly what they mean, or to find similar words to expand on the meaning. So I looked up fickle. It’s not commonly used today, but it’s still a great word. It means likely to change, especially due to caprice, irresolution, or instability; casually changeable: fickle weather. Also not constant or loyal in affections: fickle lover (dictionary.com).

God is not fickle, though he is often portrayed this way in movies and books. I guess anthropomorphizing God into a capricious, unstable entity makes a better story than showing him the way he really is – someone we can hold onto and trust to never play with our emotions or our lives, someone who is a rock of stability in a world of shifting sand.

