“The Lord is merciful and compassionate, slow to get angry and filled with unfailing love” (Psalm 145:8, NLT).

I once watched a man climb on his coffee table, shake his fist in the air and yell, “Come on God, if you’re there, hit me with lightning!” Fortunately for him, nothing happened, but I was shaking in my shoes. I had never seen anything like it except perhaps in a movie. I marveled, thinking he just didn’t know what he was doing.

God didn’t strike him with proverbial lightning that day. He is slow to get angry and filled with love that never fails. God loved the man on the coffee table that day, just as he loves everyone who shakes a fist in his face, not realizing who he is or how much he loves them. I’d love to see the look on his face when he meets God and gets a hug instead of the death sentence he was expecting. I’m sure he’ll see the mercy and compassion in the eyes of his Savior and accept the forgiveness he already has in Christ. Who knows—they might even have a laugh about the whole fist-shaking business. God does have a sense of humor!

