Ariadne merione chrysalis

Ariadne merione chrysalis (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“And I am certain that God, who began the good work within you, will continue his work until it is finally finished on the day when Christ Jesus returns” (Philippians 1:6, NLT).

When my daughter was born, I began a cross stitch sampler with the names of all the grandkids on my husband’s side of the family. My daughter is almost 24 and the sampler is finished but still hasn’t been framed. At this rate, I will have to start adding great-grandchildren. Sometimes I don’t finish what I start. Does anyone else have that problem?

If God were like us, we would be in big trouble. But as I like to say here, God isn’t like us. Fortunately for us, he does finish what he starts. What he has started in us, the good work this verse speaks of, is our transformation from weak, sinful, mortal human beings into completely new creatures, who will one day be like Jesus. Just as a caterpillar awaits its transformation, totally dependent on forces outside itself, so we await our change, inside the chrysalis of Father, Son and Holy Spirit. We are fed, nurtured and matured by his love and grace. He won’t let anything happen to abort the process—he always finishes what he starts.

