“God will do this, for he is faithful to do what he says, and he has invited you into partnership with his Son, Jesus Christ our Lord” (1 Corinthians 1:9, NLT).

Until a few years ago, I thought all God wanted from us was obedience. I didn’t understand he wants so much more—a relationship, with all that goes with it. He wants love, conversation, participation and each knowing the other. Now that I understand this, I chafe when I hear someone say God wants to use us in some way. In our troubled world when a person uses another, it’s never a good thing.

People in a good relationship don’t use each other. They are partners, participating together in everything they do, looking out for each other and motivated by love. God doesn’t want to use us, although you could say it’s different with God, but words are powerful. I am not motivated by the thought God wants to use me as he would a tool that is only a means to an end. I do get excited knowing he wants me to participate and partner with him in a loving relationship.

