“He makes me as surefooted as a deer, enabling me to stand on mountain heights” (Psalm 18:33, NLT).

Mountain climbing seems to me a difficult sport. I haven’t done it myself, just a little hiking. I can’t imagine navigating such rocky, steep and unstable terrain. Even walking over loose stones is enough to make me unsure of myself. The psalmist must have been watching deer go where no one had gone—or could.

White-tailed deer in Toronto, Canada

White-tailed deer in Toronto, Canada (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The parallels between climbing and life are pretty obvious and it’s also obvious we aren’t like the deer who have no fear of climbing. We are often unsure of our path, of the decisions we must make and the many choices that bombard us daily. As the psalmist watched the deer, he understood God is the one who made them surefooted and he does the same for us. The deer go by instincts while we must go by faith and trust in the one who enables us to stand on the mountain heights.

