“For the Lord God is our sun and our shield. He gives us grace and glory” (Psalm 84:11a, NLT).

In southern California, we have silly names for the weather. We have wind events and rain events (I guess because they are so rare) and in June, we have June Gloom. This means the marine layer of clouds comes over land, and if we’re lucky (imo) it even comes out to where I live. I say lucky as I really enjoy the quiet and the feeling of being fogged in. It stays cool a little longer, which relieves the heat of the early summer.

If the sun never came out, I’m sure it wouldn’t feel so lucky. We need the sun for light and warmth and I’m sure a lot of other things to do with our little galaxy we’re not even aware of. This verse says God is our sun. He gives light, warmth and life to the whole earth. No wonder ancient civilizations used to worship the sun. They had the right idea, they just didn’t realize the identity of the real sun—God, the giver of life and our shield, who gives grace and glory.

