“For you are my hiding place; you protect me from trouble. You surround me with songs of victory” (Psalm 32:7, NLT).

One of the fun parts of riding my bicycle is watching the ground squirrels scurry back to their hiding places as I get too close for their comfort. They can really run! Sometimes I surprise them and sometimes they surprise me. They have holes everywhere for quickly taking cover.

At times we can feel like a ground squirrel, sunning on a rock, enjoying the morning when out of nowhere comes a hawk, a snake or a wild cyclist to shake us up, disrupt or even destroy our lives. Squirrels escape to their burrows but where do we go? God is our hiding place, the one we can run to anytime, anywhere. He doesn’t make all the dangers in life go away, but he provides the safety of his love and grace, giving us strength to face and get through the troubles, and even gives us a song as we go!

