“The LORD is for me, so I will have no fear. What can mere people do to me?” (Psalm 118:6, NLT).

Most of us Christians don’t have to worry about suffering bodily harm because of our faith, but we do sometimes experience ridicule, scorn and prejudice. We all get lumped together when one expresses an unpopular opinion or an indiscretion is made public. Recent polls have revealed the growing apathy or even distaste many have for Christianity in general and Christians in particular.

For the most part, I’ve given up worrying what people think of me and what I believe. As a friend once said, if God is in your grandstand, it doesn’t matter what anyone else thinks, because he’s the only one who matters. Our goal is not to please people, but to please him. And since we know we are loved as dear children, we please him simply because we are his. The hard part is loving those who are displeased with us. Thankfully, he helps us do that and helps us pray for them as well. He is not only on our side, but on everyone’s side!

