“For God’s gifts and his call can never be withdrawn” (Romans 11:29, NLT).

When we were children, most of us (girls, maybe boys too) played the little game of “he loves me, he loves me not” while pulling petals off a daisy. It didn’t mean anything of course, but for some reason, we insisted on destroying an innocent flower in a quest to determine if our current love interest returned the feelings.

Daisy, Daisy, give me your answer true...

Daisy, Daisy, give me your answer true… (Photo credit: capegirl52)

Some play the game with God, wondering if his affections change as easily as ours, especially if they are under the impression he keeps a Santa Claus-type list of who’s being naughty and nice. In this section of Romans, Paul is addressing the Gentiles, who seem to have pulled the last petal off the daisy, ending with “he loves me.” Their conclusion was the Jews got the “he loves me not” petal. But God doesn’t play games. His gifts and his calling (which is to all humankind) are forever and unchanging and are not affected by our our whims and fickleness. God’s daisy still has all its petals and they all say he loves us!

