“Remember the things I have done in the past. For I alone am God! I am God, and there is none like me. Only I can tell you the future before it even happens. Everything I plan will come to pass, for I do whatever I wish” (Isaiah 46:9-10, NLT).

The Passage of Time

One of the most fascinating things about God is he lives outside of space and time. He had no beginning and he has no end. He’s not bound by any of the limitations we experience. We live on a timeline but as he doesn’t, he can see ours from beginning to end. This confuses us sometimes—remember the Borg Queen’s famous words? “You think in such three dimensional terms”! (Star Trek, First Contact)

God sees everything from beginning to end and he knows how all of our stories will turn out. This doesn’t necessarily mean he orchestrates everything, but these verses do assure us his plan and purposes will be accomplished. And we don’t need to worry about God doing whatever he wishes, as if he might decide to do something capricious or selfish. He’s not like us! Everything he does is in love and with our best interests at heart.

