“I, the Lord, made you, and I will not forget you. I have swept away your sins like a cloud. I have scattered your offenses like the morning mist. Oh, return to me, for I have paid the price to set you free” (Isaiah 44:21b-22, NLT).

Fog in Westow

I really enjoy an occasional foggy morning. The air is heavy with moisture, sounds are muted and my neighborhood looks completely different. It rarely lasts long, burning off as soon as the sun rises a little in the sky. An hour later, you’d never know it had been there, hiding the houses and shrouding the world in mist.

We sometimes wonder how God, who surely has perfect memory, could possibly forgive and forget our sins so completely they are gone like the morning fog. We can’t seem to forget our own, let alone what others have done. But that’s just what he does in Christ. His grace sweeps away the dark clouds of our sin in an instant, fills us with love and gratitude and helps us see our way to return to his loving embrace.

