“But you are a tower of refuge to the poor, O Lord, a tower of refuge to the needy in distress. You are a refuge from the storm and a shelter from the heat” (Isaiah 25:4, NLT).

Arizona Sonoran Desert

Living in Arizona gave me a new perspective on heat. I’ll never forget the day I walked out of my air conditioned office into a 117 degree oven-like afternoon. I almost burned my fingers when I touched the door handle on my car and wished I’d had pot holders for the steering wheel. It wasn’t the kind of day for spending any time outdoors.

Sometimes life turns up the heat, with circumstances and problems that seem too hot for us to handle. That’s when we head for the shade of God’s shelter and his tower of refuge. It’s not cowardly as some believe, to escape the heat by seeking shade—it’s smart. Sheltering under God’s love and grace doesn’t mean we deny reality or live in a fantasy. He protects us and gives us strength to continue, with the tools and provisions we need to survive the high temperatures in the desert of life.

