“I will be your God throughout your lifetime—until your hair is white with age. I made you, and I will care for you. I will carry you along and save you” (Isaiah 46:4, NLT).

Friends

My best friend in college lived in the same house her whole life (all 18 years!). Her parents and grandparents had also lived in that house and she and her family had long time relationships with all the neighbors. I on the other hand, had moved with my family several times before going to college and was amazed to meet someone like her. Not having to change homes, schools or leave friends behind seemed to make her a more secure person.

Friendships and relationships are often transitory in our mobile society. Moves and disruptions can leave us feeling lonely and without anchors. Friendship with God is the one relationship we can count on no matter what changes we go through in life. He is with us and supports us from beginning to end, carrying us through every phase. He gives us his saving grace all along the way and when we take our last breath. He is our before and after cradle-to-grave God.

