“‘I am both the source of David and the heir to his throne. I am the bright morning star'” (Revelation 22:16b, NLT).

I'm My Own Grandpa

A silly song came out in the mid-40s called “I’m My Own Grandpa.” It’s the mixed up story of how, through several marriages and births, a man became his own (step) grandfather. It’s an unlikely but possible scenario and the song was a hit because of the fantastic and humorous conclusion.

In a way, Jesus is his own great-great-great, etc., grandpa. He is the source of all life (John 1), a descendant of David and by extension, a son of Adam and a son of God. Matthew Henry’s Commentary notes: “this Jesus, as God, is the root of David, though, as man, his offspring—a person in whom all uncreated and created excellencies meet.” It’s a bit of a mind twisting experience to follow the relationships in the song but it takes only a little bit of faith to believe Jesus is the one who was and is and is to come. Thankfully he is the source of our faith and everything else we need. He is the bright morning star of life.

