Jesus’ gentleness

“Now I, Paul, appeal to you with the gentleness and kindness of Christ—though I realize you think I am timid in person and bold only when I write from far away” (2 Corinthians 10:1, NLT).

Paul did a lot of correcting in his letters, to the point it seems that’s almost all he did. Granted, the Corinthians had a lot of problems. He also tried to be encouraging and positive – the prayers in his letters are beautiful and give us a good example of how to pray for others.

I love how Paul appeals to them with the gentleness and kindness of Christ. He was imitating Jesus (as Paul said we are to do) who seemed to correct people (go and sin no more) gently and with extreme kindness. May we all learn to be more gentle and kind to everyone.

Author: ttkach

Writer, cyclist, paper-crafter, mom, gardener.

2 thoughts on “Jesus’ gentleness”

  1. I am enjoying the different translations you are using. I had to read this verse a couple of time to recognize it as one that I knew, because of the translation. When we read something again and again, we begin to miss things. When we read it in a different translation it’s as if we haven’t seen it before and we are seeing it for the first time.

    I am also impressed at the variety of verses you are using. . .there is no detectable theme apart from the fact they all come from the Bible.

Leave a comment