“Can a mother forget her nursing child? Can she feel no love for the child she has borne? But even if that were possible, I would not forget you!” (Isaiah 49:15, NLT).

I’ve met a lot of people over the years, beginning of course in kindergarten. I wish I could say I remember everyone, but sadly, I’ve forgotten most of them. Unless you’ve lived in a small town all or most of your life, where everyone knows everyone, you can probably relate. I’m looking forward to a big reunion in heaven, where we can reconnect (and not just on Facebook) and really get to know each other.

I’m no doubt one of the many forgotten by those I have forgotten. None of us can remember as much as we would like. God is the only one who doesn’t forget, and not just because he has a good memory. His is a great, divine awareness. No one is ever lost to him or out of his “sight.” The only thing he will ever forget is our sin, covered by grace, which he chooses to put out of his mind, as far as east is from west (Psalm 103:2). How wonderful to know that even though we forget each other, he will never forget us.

