“‘Does the rain have a father? Who gives birth to the dew? Who is the mother of the ice? Who gives birth to the frost from the heavens? For the water turns to ice as hard as rock, and the surface of the water freezes’” (Job 38:28-30, NLT).

In elementary school, I was given an assignment to write my first research paper. I don’t remember if  I chose the topic or not, but it was on water. I’ve never forgotten it, partly because it was my first paper but mostly because of all I learned about water. I was impressed with the properties of this amazing element and how its characteristics are the perfect life support for this planet.

Water cycle http://ga.water.usgs.gov/edu/water...

Water cycle http://ga.water.usgs.gov/edu/watercycle (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Even though we drink it, bathe with it and use water in many ways every day, we pretty much take it for granted. But life couldn’t exist without it. Each one of its properties is unique and essential, but taken together, they make up the brilliant foundation for life.

At the time I wrote that paper, I didn’t know much about God and didn’t realize he’s the one who made water and gave it to us. Now I know all the praise for water goes to God for his ingenious “invention,” the lavish and wonderful gift to life on earth. Just as God reminded Job, may we all be reminded of his love and generosity and never take water for granted again.

