We are two months into the year and most people have already forgotten their New Year’s resolutions, if they even bothered to make any. I made a couple – one to exercise more and the other to be a regular blogger. I’ve done pretty well – so far. But if I’m not as consistent as I would like, I won’t beat myself up or give up. I’m determined to keep going with both, no matter what.

Life is full of distractions and often things happen to derail our good intentions, even when it comes to spiritual matters. It’s frustrating to realize how consistently inconsistent you can be! But the following quotation reassures me God is not a harder taskmaster than I am. He understands our limitations and really only expects one thing of us: to keep going, to keep running the race and cross the finish line (Philippians 3:12-14).

“I would emphasize this one committal, this one great volitional act which establishes the heart’s intention to gaze forever upon Jesus. God takes this intention for our choice and makes what allowances he must for the thousand distractions which beset us in this evil world. He knows that we have set the direction of our hearts toward Jesus, and we can know it too, and comfort ourselves with the knowledge that a habit of soul is forming which will become after a while a sort of spiritual reflex requiring no more conscious effort on our part” (A. W. Tozer, The Pursuit of God, p. 82).

I’m not sure I completely agree with the “no more conscious effort” part, but I love that God knows the intent of our hearts and makes allowances for distractions. So here’s to pointing ourselves in the the right direction and finishing the race!

